New Year, Old Gifts

Happy New Year!  I hope everyone had a wonderful holiday season full of friends, family, and warm knits!

This is my first year crafting holiday gifts for my friends and family.  To start, I had a long list of hats, boot toppers, and so much more.  Then I realized I am actually not a lightening speed knitter nor do I have the time to knit for everyone on my Christmas list.  So I whittled it down to three things: a pair of socks, a hat, and a blanket.  And then I removed the socks from the list, though not for lack of trying.


I knit up the first sock extremely quickly…maybe too quickly.  The sock was meant for my sister and after knitting my first sock, it fit my foot perfectly.  I cast on the second sock and started knitting away.  As I was knitting, I realized, “My foot is not the same size as my sister foot.  This sock will be much too big.” And with so little time to make a new pair, I crossed it off my list and started the next item.

My second and third items on my list were finished just as Christmas Eve turned into Christmas day: a Anaheim Ducks beanie and a cozy forest green blanket.  These last minute projects did not start out as last minute. I started the blanket in mid November and the hat in early December.  However, the hat was a gift for my live-in boyfriend so could only be worked on when he was not home or on work breaks.  And the blanket, well I just stopped wanting to knit it.


The hat is my own pattern (hopefully I can write it up soon) and is knit in Knit Picks Gloss dk.

The blanket pattern is Peaceful by Anita Lewis and is knit up in a dark green Caron Simply Soft

But both were finished in time for Christmas and both were very well received.

The rest of the holiday was a flurry of traveling, activities and food.  I got very little knitting done, but I was able to cast on a new sweater. The pattern is Grace by Jane Richmond.


In terms of Knit Year’s Resolutions?  I do not want to buy anymore yarn until I move through at least half of my stash and I would like to include a knit for myself every few gifts.

What are your Resolutions?

Leave a Reply

