Wrist Recovery

It has been a little over a week since I have sprained my wrist.  I thought, “Minor sprain.  Should be back to normal by the end of the week.” Unfortunately I was wrong.  While my wrist is definitely recovering, it is taking longer than I though.  I can do a little knitting while wearing a brace, but not physical activity that places strain on my wrist – aka the only form of exercise I have every enjoyed, bouldering.

So with my lack of exercise, I have been spending so much time on Ravelry and knitting blogs.  I am slowly working my way through “Grace” but seeing all the wonderful items knitters are creating have given me the biggest itch to cast-on-itis.  It also not helpful that I have promised two people beanies and the desire to start them right away is slowly picking at my self-restraint.

I will try my best to be a monogamous knitter (not really, I have a pair of socks in my travel purse), but do not be surprised if I cast on a beanie by the end of the weekend. 

 
I did spend three hours in a Target Starbucks waiting for my car to receive maintenance. A few inches of the cardigan were knit and a book was read. I highly recommend “Speak” by Louisa Hall. It’s an amazing book discussing themes of humanity, technology, and communication. 

7 thoughts on “Wrist Recovery

  1. Not being able to knit is heartbreaking! I had a similar situation a few months ago. I hope that your wrist gets better soon.

    And I say knit the beanies! The sweater will be there when you’re done.

    Like

      1. Luckily both recipients really want a blue beanie so I’m hoping to just buy a big skein of one color. I don’t have the patterns nailed down yet, but I was thinking of Bough by Leila Raabe and not sure for the second. It’s for a boy. Any suggestions?

        Like

      2. Oh Bough is gorgeous. That’s going to be fun to knit. I’ve knit the Skyping Beanie for my brothers and they really liked it. It’s pretty manly but a bit more interesting than just ribbing.

        Like

Leave a Reply

