I have a blog?

It has been over a year since I last posted on here.  I almost forgot I had it.  When I first started this (and then promptly forgot about it) I wanted to use it as an online journal of my knitting.  A place where I could chronicle what I have knit, how I have knit it, and my feelings regarding said knitting.  Then I hit a little rough patch, got really busy, and just really lazy.

I can’t promise it won’t happen again, but I would like to give myself the opportunity to renew not only my blogging habits, but my crafting habits. And I say crafting being I have followed in the footsteps of many knitters and expanded my fiber obsession.  I now spin.

Me taking a spinning class at my local LYS

In a (near) future post, I will show everything I have knit in the year I took off of blogging, but for now I want to show off my wheel and its projects.

I initially looked into spinning due to all the other knitter online also dabbling in other fiber arts.  I took a class at my LYS, and I was hooked.  It took me about four or five months after the class ended to find a nice and affordable wheel on Craigslist.  I replied to the ad and immediately drove an hour away to buy it from a lovely woman who had just upgraded.

img_7072
THE wheel. She is awesome.

It was love at first sight.  I took her home (actually to a friend’s place since I was supposed to be attending a friend dinner) and starting spinning.  It took me a while to figure out how everything was supposed to work, but in the end I think I have at least the basics down.   I can’t really control the weight of the yarn I make…but at least my favorite weight is fingering!

 

img_7097
Bad Picture, but wonderfully colorful actual yarn!
img_7397
With spun yarn comes the need for a niddy noddy. I made this one out of pvc piping. It was so easy and gets the job done!

img_7399

 

 

img_7401

I really love being able to create yarn and to feel even more deeply connected to the history of yarn and knitting.

Leave a Reply

